my gc is lying - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 03:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rcsucka
Angry my gc is lying

hey guys. I have an ATI Radeon 9000 128mb agp graphics card, but when i go to Desktop>Properties>Settings>Advanced>Adapter, it says that the memory size is only 64mb. Is it because it's being shared or something? its an esc motherboard and i have windows xp sp2. thanks.
__________________

rcsucka is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thats what i would think. you sure its a card not integrated?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rcsucka
Default

its not integrated because i built the computer. The box says radeon 9000 128mb.
rcsucka is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Three Pin-Compatible Variants for Ultimate Design Flexibility
Mobility™ Radeon® 9000 represents ATI's sixth generation of mobile graphics to integrated memory on the chip. With three variants, Mobility™ Radeon® 9000 offers true flexibility for numerous mobile form factors, from full size to "thin-and-light". Mobility™ Radeon® 9000 has three variants:
Discrete up to 128MB
On-chip 32MB DDR (64-bit)
On-chip 64MB DDR (128-bit)

Dude...it's a 64mb graphics card!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rcsucka
Default

i dont get it. isnt the mobility radeon for laptops? i have an atx case with the radeon 9000 in the agp slot. i know its not the mobility radeon series. thanks for replying
rcsucka is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

anyway if it isn't the integrated 9000 i would say your first guess is right, some of the memory is shared. check to see what windows reports your memory as and see if its 64mb below what it should be
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.