My Gaming Rig is Dead (or at least comatose). Help w/ diagnosis? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2011, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default My Gaming Rig is Dead (or at least comatose). Help w/ diagnosis?

I was doing some GPU troubleshooting w/ SLI. Now the machine will not post at all. Here are the things I know are NOT the problem after pretty extensive troubleshooting: GPU's, PSU, monitor. I reset CMOS and it still won't post. What could be the problem? Could the motherboard be bad?

Before you ask, here's what I was doing w/ the GPU's. I noticed that my SLI'd 570's were not performing like SLI'd 570's while playing BF3. There was no difference in performance w/ one 570 or both in SLI. I know SLI was working because my Unigine Heaven benchmark scores showed it, and the NVidia control panel showed both cards in SLI. I confirmed both cards were working separately by running games and benchmarks w/ only each card by themselves installed. So, I updated the firmware on both cards, put them back in SLI, booted rig,,, No post. From there I tried everything including installing a different GPU, PSU, reset CMOS (as already stated), tried monitor on another machine,,, All of this tested as everything working fine. My only conclusion - in my limited knowledge of these things - is that the motherboard took a dump. Could I get your opinion please? Thanks for any/all help.
__________________

croSSeduP is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My Gaming Rig is Dead (or at least comatose). Help w/ diagnosis?

You updated the video cards firmware??? Could you elaborate more on this?

My 1st guess would be that you killed your cards.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My Gaming Rig is Dead (or at least comatose). Help w/ diagnosis?

try flashing them back one at a time to the original firmware (hope you made a backup).
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 06:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: My Gaming Rig is Dead (or at least comatose). Help w/ diagnosis?

No problems with cards. Everything is working again, sort of magically. I did a bunch of troubleshooting, swapping parts I knew worked I had on hand, etc., and the rig just slowly started working again. I can't say there is anything I did definitively that fixed the problem. All's good now! Thanks for the replies.
croSSeduP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POP!! ARRRRRGGGG!!!! - Gaming rig dead. Ethereal_Dragon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 09-22-2010 08:40 AM
Happy Birthday, Comatose Clown ! oldskool Off Topic Discussion 10 09-30-2009 08:46 PM
rebuilding current rig - server/gaming rig.. help? anime_dude07 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-30-2009 11:12 AM
[GAMING COMPUTER]new gaming rig ~1200 with included 22"LCD ibexpiotr New Systems | Building and Buying 11 02-07-2009 09:11 AM
quick PSU diagnosis needed (is it dead or is it something else) sloppycoder Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 08-31-2004 03:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.