My External SSD is having problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2016, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default My External SSD is having problems.

It shows up in Devices and Printers as ASMT1153E, but it doesn't show up in File Explorer.

It's a self built external with a Mushkin 1TB SSD and a NexStar CX case.
__________________

B-29_Bomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,916
Default Re: My External SSD is having problems.

Have you tried directly connecting the SSD to your system to see if the enclosure is the piece that's having issues?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: My External SSD is having problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Have you tried directly connecting the SSD to your system to see if the enclosure is the piece that's having issues?
That would be the logical thing to do, but unfortunately I don't have a system that I can readily do that with. All I have are two laptops.
B-29_Bomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,916
Default Re: My External SSD is having problems.

Do either of the laptops have 2 drive bays, or are they both single drive laptops?

Easy: remove an HDD from one of the laptops, and put the SSD in place of it and make sure it's recognized in BIOS at least. You could then boot off of a Linux LiveCD and see if it's recognized as an internal drive there. Then could put it back in the enclosure and boot back off the Linux LiveCD and see if the enclosure+drive is recognized or not.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Default Re: My External SSD is having problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Do either of the laptops have 2 drive bays, or are they both single drive laptops?

Easy: remove an HDD from one of the laptops, and put the SSD in place of it and make sure it's recognized in BIOS at least. You could then boot off of a Linux LiveCD and see if it's recognized as an internal drive there. Then could put it back in the enclosure and boot back off the Linux LiveCD and see if the enclosure+drive is recognized or not.
They're both under warrantee.
B-29_Bomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 08:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 06:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 12:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 09:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 09:04 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.