my dvd burner hangs during software installations - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2005, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default my dvd burner hangs during software installations

Intel P4 3.4Ghz
Intel d915pbl mobo
1GB PC2-4200
WDC 120GB external

NEC ND-3500AG DVD+/-R DL 16X


i consinder myself a pretty intermediate computer user and can usually figure out most of the problems with my system. this however really wracks my brain and im just tired of endlessly searching through hundreds of forums and never finding the answer.

hopefully it will be a quick fix since it seems like a small problem:

occaisionally when i install any software (usually more prone to games) my dvd rom locks up and hangs when it asks to swap discs. the computer itself is fine, no programs lock up, system works like normal, the drive itself just stops responging, it stops responding to eject commands whether its software eject or hardware button eject. the problem remedies itself when you restart, but that defeats the purpose of installing anything. its really annoying when youre installing world of warcraft or quake 4 and it locks up right when it prompts for the last disc. i have no idea what it could be, ive downloaded plenty of drive fix software and patches but have removed them all since none seemed to work.

please someone know the answer, ill be more relaxed when this is fixed and not nerve wracking, thanks in advance

deimos1090 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hi There

Ok now this might be a streach.But I just did a spyware scan with a new scanner Steganos Anti spyware and it found a program that is out there that will screw up your cd and dvd burner.Its some type of copy protection that comes with games.This is what it is called
It didnt do anything to my driver but that could be because of the protection I have on my computer that wont let regestry changes happen.Anyway just a thought...

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hi again
Heres a link with some info but im not really sure that this will help.Ill look around for some different solutions..
About 3 months ago on my computer befor i did a reinstall I had both of my DVD burners bite the dust at the same time an extrernal and intrenal and they were both only 2 and 3 months old Never did find out what it was.I was able to return the extrenal drive but i put the interanl in another computer and it still wont burn.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

well the thing is my burner runs fine, im still able to burn dvd discs and regular cds, the problem only exists when i install software. the drive just stops responding, it stays in device manager, but its like the power just cuts out and doesnt want to respond. im sure its not a power problem since i have a 450W psu. ill try the spyware though, hopefully that will work.
deimos1090 is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

I have that problem sort of too,1 of the problem's is dvd burner's take a little bit longer to search for stuff at the begining when you pop in a disk,Since you said it's happening when swapping disk's try using a normal cd-rom instead and see what happen's
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

ive used a regular hp cd burner drive that i ripped out of my old pc before i reformatted all my drives and swapped drives, but i flashed the firmware on the drive, maybe that would do it, i dont know, disabling and re-enabling in device mgr. prevents you from having to restart everytime, but that doesnt solve the problem
deimos1090 is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

it is possible that it is a power problem, i'm not saying that it is only that it could be. perhaps the drive is failing? to test the power i would try disconnecting any extra dvd/cd-drives that you aren't using at the time. if its a power issue, disconnecting an optical drive should provide more than enough power as the symptoms seem to suggest that if the psu is at fault that it is only slightly less powerful than it needs to be. try making some images of the discs and running the install from the images using daemon tools.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

i only have the one optical drive since i use it on the same ide cable as one of my other hard drives, i only have the one cable on the mobo, my mobo sucks i know, i can image and run them through daemon tools fine, i do that all the time and it runs fine. so far it hasnt happened after i flashed the firmware. as for the drive failing, it could be, but i bought it off of about mid march so it hasnt been in use too long, but i have thought of the simple replacement option (just trying to avoid it). im assuming that it has to be something with the drive since ive tried plenty of other drives from, hp to sony and the run smooth. i still dont know, im lost as to the cause of it. plus the worst part of it is that it happens only sparingly not all the time but once in awhile and only during installations or when software asks for disc changes.
deimos1090 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

pinnacle software use to do this on computers. do you have pinnacle?

The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.