My DH's only transfer data from each other at 815 mbps? Why so slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2006, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Default My DH's only transfer data from each other at 815 mbps? Why so slow?

The HD’s I have are listed in my signature. They are 3/0 gb/sec HD’s running off a mobo that supports 3gb/ sec HD’s. Yet when I try to transfer 9.2 GB from one HD to another it takes three minutes to transfer the data. Why so long? They are 3.0 gb/ sec HD’s…

That’s only about 815 mbps… By Eathernet card supports speeds faster then that… So wtf?

SPL Tech is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168

I just transferred some more files and noticed there is an extreme variance in the amount of bandwidth they transfer at. I listed them below.

23.5 GB. in 400 seconds = 510 mbps (large video files)
618 MB. in 13 seconds = 377 mbps (music)
7.79 GB. in 305 seconds = only 200 mbps!! (games)
25 GB. in 450 seconds = 445 mbps (medium to large video files)
202 MB. in 7.5 seconds = 215 mbps (different various files)

So why the **** are these HD's running so slow? Especial the transfer of the games. IT was only 25mbps. I know some places that have faster internet connections...

and btw... nothing was running in the background. All resources were dedicated to the transfer of the files.

SPL Tech is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

u using the mobo in ur sig? u usin the hdd's in ur sig?

may be a setting in ur bios, use ur mobo/hdd manuals and set them up according to the manual. also, make sure there aernt any errors in device manager.
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168

Yes I am using the stuff in my sig. What options are there to choose from related to the HD's?
SPL Tech is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 03:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the bandwith of the cables may be 3GB/S, but the hard drive itself can't write or pull data off the disk that fast.

How fast the hard drive itself can read or write will depend on a number of things, including, but not limited to, the fragmentation, the disk RPM, the accuracy of the read/write heads, the amount of sectors, how far away it is from the centre of the disk etc....
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.