Is my CPU fried? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Is my CPU fried?

I have a Sony VAIO PCV-2234 and I tried something that now I consider very stupid. I tried swapping out the CPU chip in the VAIO to put in another machine (Dell) and switched it back...And all that happens on the VAIO is the power light blinks orange on the front of the machine. Everything else works, Mobo appears to work (power still getting to heatsink and case fans), HD's trying to fetch data but nothing happens with the CPU.

Funny thing is, when I swapped it back...It booted right up, I had to restart to plug in the mouse...then no signal to my monitor, and finally rebooted one more time to get a flashing orange light.

Will post pictures of CPU in a minute..
__________________

N519AT is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default



Sorry for the quality, pic taken from my cell phone.
__________________

N519AT is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Make sure you put it back on right...
If you did, there might be a problem..
eh
DX
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I did....
N519AT is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Have you cleared the cmos/pulled the battery. Did you try plugging the mouse in when the computer is running? Plugging a ps2 mouse in while the computer is on can fry the motherboard. The other cpu probably isn't supported by the Sony Propriatary bios. (on purpose so you can't upgrade).
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

yup That's a CPU alright
how is the cpu locked down ? did you lock it down, make sure the heatsink is on right ?
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Alright I cleared the CMOS by pulling out the battery, but now there is no output to the monitor from onboard video...Seems to boot, with the light no longer blinking....But just won't output the info to the screen
N519AT is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Would it be wrong to by a video card to try to get my video output to work?
N519AT is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

my friend try to plug another monitor on the vga out (if there is such port) so you can see if the pc is booting ok. if yes, then you have to check the vga wiring from motherboard to monitor.
__________________

djb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.