Is my CPU dying? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 03:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I too think that if I try to reformat/reinstall windows, it'll be really slow and probably will freeze before I manage to finish, so I don't think it's the best option for my PC.

I am pretty sure the hard drive is fine. It starts windows without any delay, I can browse the disk in explorer easily too (well, if not doing anything else at the same time, otherwise 100% cpu and zzzz...). And I recently did a defrag for my main HD, it went fine and didn't report any errors.

Spyware, adware, trojans, virii - all part of the Windows fun. If you are not protected, learn and do so before connecting to the net AFTER you reformat and reinstall. I think that is your best bet for a lot of reasons. Some folks like to patch it up and try to keep it running, but a fresh install solves all Windows problems (for a while).
I can tell you my PC was well protected before this happened. I had an anti-virus running, a firewall, did spyware scans regularely, etc.

Olivier
__________________

olivier1984 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 03:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

errm try a format see if it helps maybe you got a virus
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 04:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

Got a problem? Reformat...(diabloII)
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 05:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhm don't pentiums have a throttle back function at high temps? I think thats why it seems so slow. I think you have a faulty temp sensor as well, 100c would be litterally boiling temp, I couldn't see any cpu surviving at that temp.

Ohh yeah check your cpu temp in the bios.
Sui is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

uhm don't pentiums have a throttle back function at high temps? I think thats why it seems so slow. I think you have a faulty temp sensor as well, 100c would be litterally boiling temp, I couldn't see any cpu surviving at that temp.

Ohh yeah check your cpu temp in the bios.


How does the bios measure the cpu temp? If the cpu temp sensor is faulty, can the bios still give the correct temperature?
Because I checked today and the CPU temp in the bios was 93°C.

Now it's the weekend so no mail. But hopefully I'll receive my thermal paste after that, and then I can finally try it out and see if it works.

Olivier
olivier1984 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 10:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

What kind of a heatsink/fan do you have? Temperatures depend on that and your thermal paste. Also try Motherboard Monitor 5 to see if it can detect the actual temperatures.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Talking

Hello again,

I received my HS5 paste today and applied it between the cpu and the heatsink. The temperature dropped to 50 °C in idle (compared to 75°C before) and 75°C when surfing and downloading stuff (compared to 100°C before).

So, apparently the temperatures are correct, the cpu sensor is working, and it was a heat issue.

I can now download stuff and surf the net and post in this forum, all at the same time. I can also play flash animations (in browser) and videos (in media player) with no lag.

So...this thermal paste really works..woohoo!
Plus, they say on their website that it takes between 50 and 200 hours of use before it's at it's full efficiency, so things will even get better

I thank you all for your support, ideas and advice and wish you a great weekend!

Olivier

p.s. To anyone who reads this: If you have a fast computer (anything over 1GHz) and use it a lot, make sure you have a good heatsink/fan combination and buy Arctic Silver thermal paste to pu in between (instructions on their website). It really helps!
olivier1984 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 06:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Gravesent
Default

I apologise if anyone mentioned this before because I didn't read all the replyes, this may sound dumb but in order for a cpu cooler to work right you need to ad a heat conducting paste betwen it and the procesor, also make sure the new cooler is built to cool your processor model, as to if it's dieing or not the cooler you keep your processor the longer it will live so if it's over heating it will unavoidable "live" lesser.

Your problem might not be only related to your procesor, some time ago a friend of mine had his computer slowed down because DMA was not enabled, his HDD made a lot of effort and his procesor was always used at 100% when doing things like listening to music or brawsing the internet, now I don't know were in Windows you can make this setting but he installed DVD Idle Pro for something else and at start up it prompted him that DMA was turned off and that solved his problem (this is of course empirical so don't bet on it)
__________________

Gravesent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.