my computer booting problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default my computer booting problem

When the windows xp splash screen comes up the loading bar goes across the screen 30 times and then it finally goes into windows.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Default

yikes !!!! go into bios and set it for optimized defaults and see if that helps.What are your specs? My intel ( ) goes across about 15 times and my amd only once
__________________

__________________
3700+ sandiego core
chaintech vnf4 ultra
evga 7800gt
2x1 gig corsair xms
antec tpII 550
80 gig hitachi sata2
win xp pro sp2
ibbonkers is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

could also be caused by not defragging your computer, viruses, spyware, adware, trojans, and others of the sorts....
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

My specs are

amd athlon 64 3500+
msi K8N Neo4 mobo
300gb hard drive
1gb of ram
xfx geforce 6800 xtreme 256mb
Raidmax Ninja case
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
could also be caused by not defragging your computer, viruses, spyware, adware, trojans, and others of the sorts....
..........
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ibbonkers
yikes !!!! go into bios and set it for optimized defaults and see if that helps.What are your specs? My intel ( ) goes across about 15 times and my amd only once
once? good god. i want a computer that will boot that fast.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

my guess is it desperately needs a defrag
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I defragged but that didn't help and i checked for spyware and that didn't help.
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

but did it completely defrag?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

google up diskkeeper, use it.. then try it
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.