my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 06:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default my computer

Ok so i found out why the windows xp loading bar goes by 30 times but need some help.

My cd rom drive is making it go by 30 times and i don't know what to do.

A. buy a new cd rom drive

B. you tell me

My cd rom drive works perfect and runs great.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

"My cd rom drive is making it go by 30 times and i don't know what to do."

"My cd rom drive works perfect and runs great."

- that sounds really contradicting to me.

"A. buy a new cd rom drive"

- u can always do that, won't hurt to get an extra drive even your old one is working fine.

"B. you tell me"

- ask politely and say thanks will defintely get you more help and response.

- anyway, check a few things:

1. go BIOS and see if your cd rom drive is even there
2. put a bootup CD and see if it boots up after post, make sure it was on top of the HDD in the bootup priority though
3. detach your IDE cable from the CD rom and see if the system can boot up without the CD rom, that should tell u if you problem is even related to the CD rom at all.

good luck.
__________________

hkfnstang is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

yeah it is in the bios and i reformatted so it does read boot up disks and i did detach the ide cable and thats how i know its the cd rom drive.
Norcent is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Odd....it could be some device conflict.....or windows is loading some useless service for that cdrom.....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

thanx but i fixed the problem yesterday.

I had the cd rom drive jumper in slave and not master.
Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.