My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2008, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please

Okay, so I custom built my computer. It's got a NFORCE 680i LT SLI mobo with Windows XP OS. I bought it with two 1 GB sticks of of NVIDIA SLI ready RAM. The RAM is dual channel PC6400 DDR2 800MHz with 4-4-4-12 timings. I recently just bought another two 1 GB sticks of RAM. I bought the second set of RAM from the same place as my first set. I even clicked the link to the RAM i bought from my order history on the website.

The problem is, that when i put in the second two sticks of RAM my computer doesn't read it. When i go to My Computer > Properties it says I have 2.50 GB of RAM but i have four 1GB sticks in my comp. I don't understand why the second 2GB of RAM only comes up as .5GB on my computer.

When i actually looked at the new RAM, the only difference i see is that the sticker on my old RAM says 4-4-4-12 and my new ones say 4-4-4. I don't know if this could be the problem, but I wouldn't think that this would make my RAM not read.

In case it helps, this is copy and pasted from my 3DMark06 system info.

Memory Info
Total Physical Memory 2.48 GB
Free Physical Memory 1.43 GB
Total Pagefile Memory 4.34 GB
Free Pagefile Memory 3.53 GB

Memory Array 1/1
Max Module Capacity 2 MB
Location System Board
Use System
Supported Speeds -
Supported Types -
Supported Voltages -

Memory Slot 1/4
Installed Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Form Factor DIMM
Frequency 894.0 MHz
Slot A0 [Bank0/1]
Manufacturer None
Type DRAM
Type Details -
Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Total Bit Width 128 b
Data Bit Width 128 b

Memory Slot 2/4
Installed Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Form Factor DIMM
Frequency 894.0 MHz
Slot A1 [Bank2/3]
Manufacturer None
Type DRAM
Type Details -
Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Total Bit Width 128 b
Data Bit Width 128 b

Memory Slot 3/4
Installed Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Form Factor DIMM
Frequency 894.0 MHz
Slot A2 [Bank4/5]
Manufacturer None
Type DRAM
Type Details -
Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Total Bit Width 128 b
Data Bit Width 128 b

Memory Slot 4/4
Installed Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Form Factor DIMM
Frequency 894.0 MHz
Slot A3 [Bank6/7]
Manufacturer None
Type DRAM
Type Details -
Enabled Size 1.00 GB
Total Bit Width 128 b
Data Bit Width 128 b

Thanks in Advance,
Taira
__________________

SabakuNoTaira is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please

Memory Support and Windows Operating Systems

Here is a link that may help you out.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please

Is your system 32-bit or 64-bit OS? If it is only a 32-bit operating system, then your system by default can not read much more ram than 2GB. Most times they can read up to 3GB, but that is not always the case.

Let me know if your system is a 32 or 64-bit OS. If not, then I will look deeper into this.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please

Also, remember, it takes into account your video card's RAM as well. Are you running SLI'd cards with 512mb each? Or do you have a single card w/ 1GB memory? 32Bit OS's can only read up to 3.5GB, so that could explain where your missing 1gig could be.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.