My comp won't boot!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Exclamation My comp won't boot!!!

I used intel's desktop control center to overclock my pc. it automatically restarted my comp and now it wont turn on! i tried a bios recovery disk but it didn't do anything. The computer tries to boot from cd-rom and floppy. lights and fans but no vid
__________________

adamL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Clear CMOS.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

i already cleared the cmos
adamL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

RMA board.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

whats rma exactly? you see, if i knew what it was i would have already tried it. but thanks for taking the time to help a guy in need!
adamL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

nevermind i know what rma is. but i cant get a refund because the board shut down while i was overclocking it!! Warranty void! Plus i need that sucker for a couple semester projects this week.....****
adamL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You don't tell them you OCed, (Act as dumb as possible.) you just say it stoped working.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

can do! how long does that kind of thing take? will intel be really questing and refuse-ing do you think? any one dealt with them much?
adamL is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I never Needed to RMA anything, So i don't know. The type of shipping really depends.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.