my comp is messed up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2009, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default my comp is messed up

ok i turned on my pc and my internet was down. so i reset it and restarted my computer to make things easy. when i restarted after it loaded up all i saw was my desktop background. i couldnt see my taskbar or icons. i couldnt ctrl=alt=del. i restarted my comp a few times but ended up with the same results. eventually all i got was a black screen with no signal. i tried troubleshooting by taking out the ram, the gfx card, checking connections, resetting the bios and changing the jumpers. i still get no signal to my monitor and my motherboard doesn't even make the beep noises it normally makes when loading.
i have a custom computer

mobo: MSI K9N6PGM2-V Motherboard - NVIDIA GeForce 6100, Socket AM2, MicroATX, Audio, Video, PCI Express, 10/100 Ethernet LAN, USB 2.0, Serial ATA, RAID

processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Processor ADO5000IAA5DO - 2.60GHz, 1MB Cache, 1000MHz (2000 MT/s) FSB, Dual-Core, Socket AM2, OEM Processor

gfx card:EVGA GeForce 9500 GT Video Card - 512MB DDR2, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Support, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV, VGA Support

I would like to know what could be wrong? Im leaning towards the motherboard being dead. but if not does anyone have advice to maybe fix this?

thanks
__________________

h8doastuff is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: my comp is messed up

Maybe a RAM problem? When you said 'taking out the RAM', do you mean you just reseated it (taking it out and putting it back in again), or did you try different sticks to see if any were dead?

If not, remove all but one stick of RAM and see if it'll boot. If that doesn't work, try another, etc.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: my comp is messed up

nope i tried it.
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: my comp is messed up

What OS you running?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: my comp is messed up

microsoft windows xp pro, sp3
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: my comp is messed up

You might be able to try a Repair install of XP. It doesnt sound like a hardware issue to me since you were able to get to the desktop but not get anything loaded. Which indicates a Profile problem to me. Not a hardware issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: my comp is messed up

i stated that i eventually got a black screen with no signal when i turned my pc on. i dont even hear my mobo turn on
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: my comp is messed up

Do a memtest86+. That will diagnose both memory and OS/HDD issues depending on the result. I would go with maks suggestion that something OS related is corrupt.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 12:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: my comp is messed up

i tried it. wouldnt work.
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: my comp is messed up

Tried what? MemTest or Repair?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New comp only start up wen clear CMOS denni0302 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-21-2009 06:47 AM
Messed up !! Mo853425ru37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 10-19-2008 01:56 PM
rebuilt socket 487 comp need help Blizz419 System Upgrades 9 10-14-2008 07:59 AM
Comp slows almost to a halt during long DL. rebnvodka Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-21-2008 12:47 AM
HELP ME!! Just built first comp bor3d System Upgrades 18 10-08-2007 05:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.