My annoying mouse problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2006, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default My annoying mouse problem

I have a Logitech G5 and some acrylic mousemat (forgot the name).

So, my mouse doesn't move smoothly across the screen. It kind of skips 3 pixels or so at a time. It makes it difficult to be precise in gaming, and it makes photoshop a pain.

I have an option in "Control Panel > Mouse" that says "enhance pointer precision". This kind of helps, but it un-checks itself when I restart my computer.

I have the latest version of Logitech Setpoint installed.

What's wrong?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Have you tried using the mouse on your table surface? not all mouse mats are good for optical mouses.
Also it could be that the usb power is constrained, if its Usb1.1 and you have something else attached with high power requirements.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

change the surface, laser is getting reflection confusion. try dull (non shiny) surface as mouse pad.

Logitech have started making ****ty products, as I moved from SE amd MX510 to MX5000 Laser desktop set, problems started, infact the Worst keyboard set I have used in my life.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I have USB2.0. Maybe I'll try a PS2 adaptor.

I really love this mouse pad.. and it cost me 15 bucks so I wanna keep it lol.

I'll try a PS2 adaptor and see what happens.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.