my 7900GT KO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 03:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default my 7900GT KO

before I actually send this thing in for RMA. I just wanna see what others think...

I have tried all the different settings on ANY game I play. (Windows, office, videos, etc.. are fine) but games... Nope... I get this

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j1.../artifacts.jpg

it does have a ZALMAN vf-700 on it... but it just started appearing one day... nothing changed. I didn't reformat, etc.. just started happening... it's not even OC'd. it was at one point, mildly, but nothing major. any thoughts?? the pic btw is FEAR with Computer on High and Graphics on Medium and it still looks like that... of course I also did the whole driver thing... I even tried the driver on the original disk that it came with... but I have used everyone plus the "tweaked" ones... none worked... so I think its physically the card...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

the KO is already significantly factory overclocked. "superclocked" infact.

its toast, send it back.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Theres 2 KO models, the standard KO, and the KO superclocked, which do you have? Does it do this everywhere, or just in a certain spot in that game? I don't know if EVGA has made a reloaded SC model, if not and you have the SC model then keep your card, as over half are doa. If its just the standard KO model then yeah send it in, and they'll send you the new reload version, which has less defects.
Sui is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

the box doesn't say anythign about SC, but I'm gonna send it in anyway... I'd rather get a regular one that works than a SC that doesn't... oh, and it's as soon as I start a game.. nonstop... artifacts, so yea.... I'm pretty sure it's the card
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.