MSI mobo, floppy disk fail - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Default MSI mobo, floppy disk fail

I built this new pc and when i first boot it up at the mobo screen it will say "Floppy disk fail (40)" and i have to press F1 to continue. I would like to get rid of this, its kind of annoying to press F1 every time u start ur comp. I treid looking around is bois and couldnt find anything . I made sure Floppy drive wasnt in the boot sequence anywhere. BTW i dont have a floppy drive at all, and i didnt plan on putting one in.
__________________

yamahammer342 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: MSI mobo, floppy disk fail

Ok that is weird if you dont have a floppy and its not in the boot sequence or anything, just keep looking in the bios for a setting somewhere. Also look on google for your problem and update your bios. I had a similar problem and updating the bios fixed it.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: MSI mobo, floppy disk fail

Disable it in the bios. My board does that too if i clear the cmos and forget to turn it off.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy disk wire too short ? where can i get a new one..? bey0nd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-06-2007 01:57 AM
CD and Floppy data/media storage White_Wolf Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 10-16-2007 01:59 PM
do i need this floppy disk? caliman System Upgrades 10 10-16-2007 07:29 AM
PC Build Error: Floppy disk(s) fail (40) coreysnyder04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-19-2007 11:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.