MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2009, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 29
Default MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

This may seem very simple, but here goes:
recently i've been having a lot of problems with my RAM from OCZ in my X58M msi motherboard.
I've been getting blue screens, corrupt files, everything crashing.. you name it. So,.. i've done the mem tests, upped the voltage, etc etc until eventually i'm told by the support I need to make sure it's not the bios and update it. ( getting around 2000 errors on one of my three DDR3 cards, only 1 or 2 on another and about 500 on the third ).

So, I try liveupdate
- Not compatable with win 7
- I install Vista
- Not compatable with vista ( urgh )
- I install xp - some kind of error calculating 16bit dos or something strange error it came up with. ( had to install xp twice because my XP cd was scratched ).
- I look for the files to download a bootable cd, all they have is a floppy, which... not only do i not have a floppy, requires me to jump through a **** of a lot of loops to be able to make any use of it. ( bit old school using floppys right? Half way through it would no doubt tell me the floppy isn't formatted :P )

As you can imagine.. i'm getting pretty irritated not being able to update my bios, and at the thought of doing it with unstable RAM aswel. I've upped the voltage on my comp and changed the timings to the support recommended settings .

They have now agreed to RMA the RAM, but... now i'm just left wanting that update to make sure. Also, it fixes a few errors I think may be causing problems.

So... any idea?
Oh, I have M-Flash but have no clue how to use it or what it does.

Pweeeaaase help!
__________________

NutterzUK is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

Live updating your bios or flashing within Windows is always a bad idea. Can you give me/us a link to your mobo on the MSI site?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

Sure, thanks for having a look at it for me :-)
Here is the link:
MSI Global – Computer, Laptop, Notebook, Desktop, Mainboard, Graphics and more
NutterzUK is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

You can flash your bios with a Floppy Disk or a Bootable USB Flash drive.

I'm looking at the V3.1 bios for your mobo
http://download2.msi.com/files/downl...xe/7593v31.zip

Floppy Disk Method
Create a bootable Floppy Disk - Bootdisk.Com
extract AFUD4310.exe (flash utility) and A7593IMS.310 (bios file) to the Floppy Disk
Restart with Floppy Disk in drive and set the floppy as the 1st boot device in your bios.
at dos prompt type
afud4310 A7593IMS.310 (don't forget the space)
follow the flash program instructions

The usb flash drive method requires you to make it bootable. The program I used turns it into a Virtual Floppy that can't be undone. Your flash drive will only hold 1.44mb just like a floppy.

Install BootDisk to Bootstick on your PC
Download BootDisk2BootStick 0.10 Beta - Small utility to make an image of your startup disk or clone it to a flash drive - Softpedia

Download Image for Dr.Dos http://3oh6.com/forum_posted/evga/us...lash/drdos.bin

Use BootDisk 2 Bootstick to image the drdos.bin file to the USB Flash Drive.

extract AFUD4310.exe (flash utility) and A7593IMS.310 (bios file) to the newly created flash drive
Restart with Flash Drive plugged in and set it as the 1st boot device in your bios.
at dos prompt type
afud4310 A7593IMS.310 (don't forget the space)
follow the flash program instructions
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

Hey Slaymate,
Thanks for your help!
I downloaded the bootstick beta and attempted to mount drdos.bin. It kept getting half way through making the flash/floppy and then stopped working, every time I looked at the drive it had formatted it to 1.4mb but not put any files on.
It gave me the idea though to look up the M-flash utility, which was a bit of a learning curve ( not what anyone is after when flashing their bios! )
I put the downloaded files onto the flashdrive, booted it up and went into bios. Selected M-Flash and selected backup ( thought i'd be safe first ). Upon returning to windows it had put a .300 file with my bios on the drive, but, I couldn't copy it over onto windows. SO... I took the leap, formatted the flash drive, put the bios on it, went to M-flash and pressed flash.

The PC locked up for what felt like years, then went through to flash the bios ( watching the % go up lol )... Then booted up to a screen saying some kind of error, "Press F2 to restore default, F1 to continue".
I pressed F2, it booted up... I ran CPU-Z and i'm now running version 3.1 ( and that message isn't there on bootup ).

So... it worked, it was just a bit scary.
Thanks for the help and ideas, got there in the end! Wouldn't have gone down that route without your help!
Also - For future references... the M-flash utility seemed fairly good and ran smoothly, just as I know it's fairly new I was worried. I needn't be.

Cheers


Steve
NutterzUK is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

Slaymate
Thank for post thing that. I have been looking around for some thing like this. Now I just need to try it out some time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Live updating your bios or flashing within Windows is always a bad idea. Can you give me/us a link to your mobo on the MSI site?
Yes. The last thing you want is windows doing a number on you and crashing just as you are flashing a BIOS. Call me old school, but i still rather us floppy drive and bootdiscs for this.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

I'm Happy to Help. It feels good to be useful
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyboard Cowboy View Post
Slaymate
Thank for post thing that. I have been looking around for some thing like this. Now I just need to try it out some time.



Yes. The last thing you want is windows doing a number on you and crashing just as you are flashing a BIOS. Call me old school, but i still rather us floppy drive and bootdiscs for this.
Lol, that's me

@ Slaymate, very interesting ! I will have to make a note of this myself.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
Going to update bios to latest version wish me luck! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-04-2007 02:56 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM
Dell D820 Bios Update BubbaGump69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-23-2007 08:00 PM
update bios Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.