MSI GTX 260 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2010, 04:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I am going to take this card out and put my old 9600gt oc back in and try to get a new one or at least try to talk to MSI about it. Really bummed about this cause I wanted to have it in when I install my new ssd this weekend. Looks like its prob gonna be a couple of weeks now.
__________________

blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 05:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

It can be a simple repaste thats need. Who set the fan that high in the first place?

Jfen or luke, just dropped his by 20C with a new paste job.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 05:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I believe that it is still all original paste and everything from the factory. I doesn't appear that the card has ever been touched. Does repasting void the warranty's on the card? I have some TX-2 that I just bought for my new CPU a couple of weeks ago. Would that be good or would you recommend something else.
Also the card was manufactured one year ago.
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 07:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I don't think it does, but again, you really don't have a warrenty anymore.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I started looking at this stupid graphics card again and I just realized that my tv tuner card it directly below the gpu. It actually is up against the shroud on the gpu, Could this be causing problems. I am going to reapply the thermal paste and check for dust and dirt on the heatsink. This tv tuner doesnt cover the fan but it covers the entire rest of the card pretty much. And when I was looking at some links on replacing the thermal paste i saw that some people use alot of thermal paste on the gpu and some people dont. Which is better? and will I need to do anything with the thermal pads for the gpu mem?
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

Well, its 1 extra source of heat added to a hot item.

Can you move the tuner card?

Keep the pads, Jfen just did his 260s, hopefully he sees this.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I would love to move it but it is a pcie 1x and its in the lowest slot. I may try taking it out and if it does help i will leave it out and just get a little tv for my desk. I was going to just change the thermal paste tonight but I decided I probably shouldnt since I have a midterm in mechanical design I tomorrow. By the way I have an ECS GF8200A motherboard with a Phenom II x3 720 BE CPU running windows 7 ultimate with 4gb of ocz pc2-8500 ram.
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

**** pci-e x1..

might as well try and taking it out and see what happens.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: MSI GTX 260

I know but i love being able to throw tv up in a small window on my second monitor if I am doing something.
__________________

blasterfreak88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 260 core 216 worth it to upgrade? 8800 GTX comparison Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 86 12-04-2008 09:09 AM
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM
$206 MSI GTX 260 @ Newegg! (Open Box) BennyV04988 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-16-2008 01:03 PM
Msi Gtx 260 - $260 @ Zzf after MIR maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-05-2008 09:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.