moving a hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2007, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 16
Default moving a hdd

I'm going to build a new computer and I want to move my old HDD from my old computer to my new one.

Here are some questions I have...

Will I have to buy or install windows?
Will I be able to access my old files without any problems?

buddha is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

If you have 2000/XP, You'll need to do a repair or upgrade install.

turtile is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: moving a hdd

Originally posted by buddha
Will I have to buy or install windows?
Will I be able to access my old files without any problems?

- yes u do have to reinstall Windows on the old hardrive, but first u need to format it, its because ur new computer will be using different hardware and u have drivers that are installed on it which will confuse the new computer and will give u errors.Well if u dont have windows Cd i'd suggest buying one if u dont have one because ull need it to reintall windows on ur new pc.

yes, most of the stuff u can access that are in ur old but when its set as a secondary Hd, because when u format it everything is deleted.
No, some stuff cant be accessed in ur hd that are in ur "Documents and Settings" because were stored on ur desktop from ur old pc. i'd suggest backing everything to a cd or a flash drive
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 16

Ok so I need to find my cd's or buy new ones and I should get a second HDD to use as primary so I can keep all of my files on my old HDD.

Anything else I need to know?
buddha is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363

If you have empty space on your HDD you can use a partition editor to shrink your partition and install Windows on it, but beware that some vendors provide "recovery" or "restore" discs that wipe the hard drive including partition table and make a complete factory image on your hard drive...just like it was fresh out of the store. I use 2 hard drives, an 80 and a 120, with Windows installed on the 80. However, if you want to use one hard drive you could attempt this ONLY if you know the risk of what you are doing. A good partition tool is GPartEd found on many Linux (Gnome) distros.

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.