mouse is too sensitive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default mouse is too sensitive

hey guys
i just bought a logitech mouse and plugged it in and it was extremely sensitive
so what i did was go into the control panel in xp and change the sensitivity down a bit and it got better but its still too sensitive. its a optical mouse and in games such as farcry and css i cant move fast enough

anyone know how to fix this
__________________

__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

If your mouse has a DPI switching button like some high end gaming mice it could be causing your problems.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
If your mouse has a DPI switching button like some high end gaming mice it could be causing your problems.
nope is just a simple mouse not a gaming mouse
__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

You can turn down the sensitivity in game options too. If it still is too sensitive it could be a manufacturing defect.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Come and try using mine, then.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Yeah yeah we know you love Razer mate .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
You can turn down the sensitivity in game options too. If it still is too sensitive it could be a manufacturing defect.
yeah did it both ways, its still too slow

some games like css its fine but then fallout 3 and farcry 2 i cant play it
sucks
id there any software i can use that lets me change sensitivity without using windows
__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

I thought you said it was too sensitive? Now it's too slow?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gallman, MS, USA
Posts: 28
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
I thought you said it was too sensitive? Now it's too slow?
I find that very ironic since several years ago most game companies stopped including joystick support because it wasn't sensitive enough. Now your mouse is too slow??? Oh, that's rich.

Anyway, I think what v8 means is that his mouse is too fast in in apps, but too slow in games, which seems to indicate the sensitivity setting in game itself is too low.
Datalyss is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: mouse is too sensitive

Get a better mouse.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Announces The Arc Mouse Osiris New Technology and Products 13 09-16-2008 07:09 PM
Mouse & Keyboard freeze if not logged into Admin XP user account? TitO_fly Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-07-2008 05:22 PM
New PC Mouse doesn't work, conflicrs with USB Ioanni Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 02-26-2008 03:51 PM
I have a mouse. NoPidy General Gaming 12 09-24-2007 01:30 PM
retarded mouse funkywaggnelz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-12-2007 07:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.