mouse software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to etch
Default mouse software

i just got a logitech mx510 and i was wondering which of its softwares i should install, should i just install the drivers? i hear hte other stuff is just cons to market their products
__________________

etch is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

nah don't... you don't need to.
I have the MX1000 and just plugged it in.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to etch
Default

i dont need anything? just plug it in and go? not even the drivers?
etch is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You shouldn't need to... I didn't. I run Xp pro
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I have a Logitech mouse and I installed all the latest drivers. Big mistake. Now, it doesn't give me the option to decide how many lines are scrolled with each notch of the scrollwheel. There's no option to do this in the new mouse options. Totally lame. I'm going to completely uninstall all this Logictech Mouseware crap. You don't need it. The mouse worked fine when I plugged it in straight out of the box, I just figured that installing proper drivers would be the best thing to do. I was wrong.
baroquejim is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baroquejim
I have a Logitech mouse and I installed all the latest drivers. Big mistake. Now, it doesn't give me the option to decide how many lines are scrolled with each notch of the scrollwheel. There's no option to do this in the new mouse options. Totally lame. I'm going to completely uninstall all this Logictech Mouseware crap. You don't need it. The mouse worked fine when I plugged it in straight out of the box, I just figured that installing proper drivers would be the best thing to do. I was wrong.
What are you talking about?

Which Logitech drivers are you using? Set Point?

Anyways, if you're using the MX510 dl the latest drivers from Logitech's website as it fixes many game issues.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/do...CONTENTID=8749

Don't use the drivers that came with the disc. It might be an older version.

If you want to change your scrolling size just go into Mouse Properties and then into the buttons tab and at the bottom you can set your scrolling size.

If you have a newer mouse like the MX518 then you're using Set Point. Set Point is highly recommended if you have the MX518 because it allows you to customize your dpi settings. There is also an option in Set Point that allows you to change your scrolling size.

It is best to install Logitech drivers if you own one of their 'gaming' mice because they have made certain revisions in the drivers for gaming compatibility.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I have a MX310 and I installed the package specifically for it from the Logictech site. There is no option anywhere to adjust the scroll length, and I went over every single square inch of the options many times over. Maybe it's different on the 510's.
baroquejim is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I prefer the basic windows driver for the logitech MX-5XX mice

I had a good reason, but I forgot why.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baroquejim
I have a MX310 and I installed the package specifically for it from the Logictech site. There is no option anywhere to adjust the scroll length, and I went over every single square inch of the options many times over. Maybe it's different on the 510's.
There should be an option if you're using their latest mouseware for the MX310.

Go into the Help file and see assigning buttons section.

But it should be in Mouse Properties > Buttons. It "should" be there at the bottom.

If it isn't I don't really know what to say but it "should" be there.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to etch
Default

so i should d/l just the drivers that either come with the packaging or off logitech's site (whatever is more recent?) but bottom line is that i should?
__________________

etch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.