Mouse & Keyboard don't function after startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default Mouse & Keyboard don't function after startup

Hi everyone

Some times when I start my computer, it shrieks and starts up normally but I can't find the mouse pointer and the keyboard doesn't work. Every time I have this problem, I shut down the computer, unplug the mouse & keyboard and plug them back, and then start the computer and everything becomes OK!

Why this is happening? And how I can fix it permanently?
__________________

Abdul11 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Sounds like its time for a new mother board
__________________

__________________
AMD Duron 1.5
512MB DDR
10/100/1000 Mps LAN
Windows 2000 Server
Windows XP Corp. Pro.
nVIDIA Geforce 6200a 512MB
Mr Wizard is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Are you sure?

That can be disastrous because my computer is new and I don't have any other problem.

The specs:

CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1200 MHz
Bus Speed: 100 Mhz
Mobo: K7S41
Memory: 256MB
OS: Win 2000
Abdul11 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

that computer is new? Not to be mean, but it's really out of date. The mobo is definetly a problem
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

OK, Can the motherboard being fixed?

And what happened to the mobo? because I am using the computer about a year.

And how come computer functions well and normally when the mobo is dead and needs replacement?

I am confused and really appreciate any one who can give answers.
Abdul11 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to teh_hunterer
Default usb?

if its a usb mouse and keyboard, you might have to enable usb mice and keyboards, in your bios.
teh_hunterer is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 10:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

No, they are PS2
__________________

Abdul11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.