motherboard will not post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default motherboard will not post


i have just got a new asrock ALiveNF4G motherboard and a amd semperon 2800 cpu. Everything looks to be installed correctly but when I power up the pc everything turns on but there is so sign of a post sequence and the monitor doesnt even come on.

I have disconnected everything but the cpu, the motherboard, the memory and the power supply, but i get the exact same problem.

Maybe its the graphics chipset? Im waiting 4 the arrival of a pci e graphics card so i wont use the motherboard graphics anyway.

Any ideas what i could try?

Specs are:

AMD 2800 Semperon
ASRock ALiveNF4G
1GB 1x1024mb DDR2 533mhz corsair memory
160GB Segate IDE HD
Pioneer DVDRW
350W PSU

al20051 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

sounds like you've missed the "P4" pin power connector. it's a small 4 pin power connector, the same style as the main power connector. have a look around the board for it and then connect the power supply's cable if it has one.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

like nitestick said, u may also want to check if ur PS falls into 15a under +12v range. in ur motherboard booklet it should tell u about all this
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Make sure you installed the pegs that go onto the case before you install the motherboard. This could cause the machine to not post. Also, try to reset your bios. There is a sticky on how to do it in this forum.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.