Motherboard VGA out not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2007, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default Motherboard VGA out not working

I just bought all the parts for a new computer, here's the list of parts.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3
RAM: 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 (CM2X1024-6400C4)
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
Power Supply: Rosewill V2.2 400W
HDD: Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB SATA 3.0GB/s

So I put everything in the case, and tried to turn it on. When I turn the computer on nothing displays to the monitor. This is the first time I'd ever started it, so I didn't change anything in BIOS or CMOS. I cleared CMOS anyway, with no avail. I'm plugging the monitor into the VGA port on the motherboard. There are no bent pins on the processor, I tried different RAM arrangements, and I took it out of the case to make sure there were no shorts on the case. Any ideas of what it could be?
__________________

Ruroniarc is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

for a system like that i wouldn't run off the integrated gfx...i would get a good pci-e card to take full advantage of the hardware that you have
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

****, get somethinng like a 8800GT or if your not willling to spend the money a 8600GTS
Nick is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

Well, the thing is is that we're out of money on our budget. Why wouldn't the motherboard VGA work anyway? I don't really understand why...
Ruroniarc is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 03:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

im not too sure either, try booting with out the hard drive pluuged n and without the CD drive
Nick is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

I tried booting again. This time I even moved my video card to that PC and it still didn't output. I tried booting without CD drives or HDDs. I tried booting with just the bare necessities, nothing worked. Now when I turn the PC on, the Processor makes this really weird Hissing noise. Not when I turn the PC on, but when I turn the power supply on. Once I turned the computer on, the hiss stops. I'm not really sure what's going on, any advice would be nice.
Ruroniarc is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

are you sure you have everything connected properly?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

I can't see what I could possibly connect wrong. What are you thinking that might be hooked up incorrectly? o.O
Ruroniarc is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

I would RMA the notherboard and CPU sounds like one of them are bad. Did you try each ram stick alone? And no BIOS either huh?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Motherboard VGA out not working

you have a dead processor
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 05:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.