motherboard q? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 04:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default motherboard q?

Anyone place anything between the motherboard and the case? i have never. I also use regular screws to hold it into place to the case wall.

anyone see a problem with that?

thanks
__________________

Sirius_GTO is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

your not using the motherboard mounts!!

please don't say your just screwing the mobo in without using the bronze mounts.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default

I'm just using metal screws that came with the hard drive. Is that bad?
Sirius_GTO is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sirius_GTO
I'm just using metal screws that came with the hard drive. Is that bad?
So the entire back of the motherboard is touching the case? lol

Why do you ask this question, btw?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

if you have done that did the computer work?

your not meant to just screw the mobo into the case, you use the bronze mounts then screw into those. It stops the motherboard shorting out by being in contact with the metal case lol
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default

I just screwed it to the case.

So you guys recommend me taking it out, and putting in those things, THEN placing the mobo on top... THEN screwing them in? IS that right? hahaha thanks guys.
Sirius_GTO is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default

oh btw, yes my computer works just fine. I asked because I heard I wasn't supposed to do it my way. ^_~
Sirius_GTO is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sirius_GTO
I just screwed it to the case.

So you guys recommend me taking it out, and putting in those things, THEN placing the mobo on top... THEN screwing them in? IS that right? hahaha thanks guys.
I think you know exactly how it works.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

lol yes I would recommend taking it out and using the motherboard mounts, mainly as it could cause problems in the future.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default

awesome guys. Thanks for the help
__________________

Sirius_GTO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.