Motherboard or PSU problem? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2012, 06:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default

..... Well now.... I feel dumb

Edit: I just read that the 7970 is backwards compatible so it shouldn't be an issue. I'll switch the pcie slots when I get home from school

Edit again: could my pcie slot be broken because the you works just fine. I reputed the connector to. I could Chang the connector setting that I have 4.

Is there anyway to know if.my graphics card
Is broken or faulty?
__________________

flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU problem?

Quote:
Cards with an x7xx number
scheme and higher usually require auxiliary
power. Those cards usually have one or two power connections that are
either 6 pin or 8 pin. The power connections must all be plugged in with
the proper type of plug. Large cards with 8 pin power connection must
use 8 pin plugs.
Plugging a 6 pin into an 8 pin connection will also cause
you to not get display.
Quote:
testing the card
in an additional computer or an
additional card in your computer is the fastest and most concrete way to
test if there is a problem with your card. If you contact support then
include the model motherboard or computer that you are using the card
in so that we can check
compatibility.
Trying a different card that you know works can help you determine if it's the video card or the motherboard
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU problem?

That's just saying that to use PCIe 3.0, you need a PCIe 3.0 motherboard. Kind of like saying "To use a door, you need a frame"
Under the requirements:
As long as you have PCIe and 16x, you are fine. PCIe 3.0 is NOT required to run this card.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU problem?

The boards specs do say 2.0 x 16
I stand corrected on the backwards compatibility
Joe C is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default

It had both. (8 + 6 pin) I doubt it would use both. I'll test using both my 5850 after I test the other pcie slot
flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU problem?

Have you read the manual that came with this video card?
Joe C is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default

Thanks guys. Right now i'm on my phone and the app is crashing so I couldn't read past the initial post about 3.0 being incompatible.

I'll try reading the manual first so I don't have to disassemble my current build. But if I have to I will. I'll post more later in the day. thanks guys.
I appreciate it


EDIT: I HAVE SOLVED THE PROBLEM. AND I HAVE CONCLUDED I AM AN IDIOT! i never plugged in the 8 pin + 6 pin into my GPU.

When i got home about an hour ago, i was ready to switch graphics cards and i noticed my old one had both the 8 pin and 6 pin plugged in and i facepalmed for a good 20 minutes.

anyway, THANKS GUYS!
__________________

flipp1234567 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motherboard or PSU problem? Choriisu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-28-2010 07:26 AM
MotherBoard Or PSU Problem? Jrh2oo8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-02-2010 01:48 PM
Motherboard, PSU Preacher Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 08-11-2007 03:30 AM
Still having stuttering problem even after trying new HDD, PSU, and motherboard. o29 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-22-2005 12:25 PM
PSU or Motherboard? OR both? baconboy007 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-13-2005 03:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.