Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2011, 02:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?)

Quote:
Either way it was that stupid cheap PSU!
Yeah, it often is.

Quote:
And honestly it was only giving me around 450W on average at load, and if you add up the wattage req. of my system it comes right at 500, so who knows if my GTX 460 was getting all the juice it needed to run at full tilt
Full tilt is the key phrase here. Those should be rare occurrences, but when the demand is there, all devices have to pull their weight.

But look at it this way, now you have spare supply to test fans.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 05-27-2011, 02:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
But look at it this way, now you have spare supply to test fans.
True dat. I have a flimsy little MaxPower 300W that use to test fans and old HDDs to hear if they spin up. Just need to jump 2 cables, and you can power it on by the switch in back. Need to jump the green and any black cable.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 10:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?)

Quote:
Need to jump the green and any black cable.
There is no color coding standard. Unfortunately, the ATX Form Factor Standard for PSUs only "recommends" - it does not require. And sadly, not all PSU makers follow the recommendations. So you cannot go by color, you have to go by pin number, which is standardized, or use a tester, such as the FrozenCPU Ultimate PSU Tester. These testers, while not conclusive, are handy to keep on hand to verify if PSU voltages are present or not and you don't have to fumble with shorting pins (or accidentally shorting the wrong pins) when testing fans and drives.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 11:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?)

Or just get something like this:

NEW 24-pin Power Supply Jump Start Connector
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Motherboard or PSU clicking (capacitor?)

Yeah! That would work to ensure the correct pins were shorted. But I like the warm fuzzy the tester gives me that all my voltages are there, and with that FrozenPC model, within tolerances too (although it does not measure ripple or other anomalies). But also, these testers have an integrated 10Ω "dummy" load which is better for the PSU, even though it is not a "realistic" load. Thus it keeps a load on the supply for a more accurate measurement, and it provide a safer method of measuring live voltages than using a multimeter.

Now whether the cost is worth the investment in a tester or not I guess depends on how often you need a warm fuzzy a PSU is working. I keep a tester in my toolbag in the truck.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken capacitor leg pork_sword Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-08-2008 08:40 AM
Intermittent Motherboard -- Bad Capacitor? edvosder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-28-2007 09:52 PM
AMD licenses Z-RAM (Zero capacitor) Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 09-27-2006 10:14 AM
6600gt broke off capacitor! burned-ati Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-07-2005 04:15 PM
Need a Capacitor for my mobo syriusblack Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 12-14-2004 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.