Motherboard problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Question Motherboard problems

Well, I have a motherboard its a Intel D850GB. At one point it was working fine, but i think i did something to it but then i'm not sure what. Ok the problem is it gives me 3 beeps, right when i turn it on, and I get no video output. I replaced the board and changed the ram and still the same thing, also tried a different power supply, so now i'm thinking it might be the CPU but i'm not too sure...Thats the only thing I have not switched is the CPU so it could be or could not be... I need some advice!

Well Thanks for you advice ahead of time

http://support.intel.com/support/mot.../cs-010249.htm
__________________

tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

If your CPU didn't work, the computer would never start. If your getting three beeps, that means your POST is trying to tell you a code. If you've followed all the instructions

On another note, the bare essentials your computer needs to turn on is a motherboard, CPU, RAM and a video card. If you're getting just three beeps, your CPU, RAM, and motherboard are functioning. If it isn't, have you opened the case and modified anything, maybe switch jumpers?

Finally, if you have a video card, make sure that the power dongle is plugged in if it requires one. If you've had the computer for a while, maybe you suffered chip creep. Just push everything in snuggly.

If you've switched out both the CPU and motherboard, I have no idea. Unless you used another board with the same exact model and problem, I dunno. Has your computer overheated before? Does it usually run hot?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Default

Ok, no its not a new build, but at one point it was working I think one time i took it apart to clean the dust from it, then the problem occured. I have used two different video cards a AGP i know works and PCI i know works. This a new motherboard, it was to replace the other one, because it was giving the same problem.

We have tried them suggestions below maybe do them again... i have three different sets of memory one that came with the motherboard too




3 beeps - Base 64 K memory failure



Reseat the memory.
Make sure that the contacts on the memory and the socket are clean.
Try removing one bank of memory modules at a time. Note: Some systems might need to have a memory module in Bank 0.
Try using RAM chips from the same manufacturer with the same part number and speed.
Check for a faulty memory module by trying the memory in a known good system.
Trying known good memory in the system.
Check the power supply and check for power fluctuations.
Swap the motherboard.
tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Default

I didnt read the rest of your post sorry, but no it has never over heated not to my knowledge. I find it strange though
tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tech4uknown
Make sure that the contacts on the memory and the socket are clean.
I'd focus on the dust problem.

You said it happened after you dusted it, that may be the problem.

How did you dust it? With compressed air or something else? Compressed air is the way to go.

Maybe you got dust lodged by a connector somewhere on the board. Did you take out all the components when you dusted? Clean the connectors for RAM and your CPU. Clean your PSU and the connectors around the chips if you can too.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.