Motherboard problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2009, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Motherboard problem?

Hey guys I just registered on here as it looks like nobody else has my problem (sorry for the no intro post). I bought a new processor and fan like 2 weeks ago and installed them (both compatible). At that time my computer would get power but no video signal. After looking on the net for help I tried starting with the minimums in my computer (made sure ram, vid card and all cords plugged in). After I unhooked and rehooked my computer inside and out now my computer won't turn on at all. I made sure my 20 + 4 pin power connector and the power sw and the external power cable was pushed in. I have nothing else to suspect that it may be my mobo itself possibly from some static when attaching the fan backplate. Can somebody please help me? Thanks
__________________

Woflina is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

Try doing the bare bones test.

Unattach everything from the motherboard except, one stick of ram, video card, cpu/heatsink and power connectors to motherboard and video card.

Then take motherboard out of case and place on a non conductive surface.

Clear CMOS by removing the watch like battery for 30 seconds, then try to turn on.

Report back.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

Yea I've tried that already that's why I'm out of ideas on what's wrong
Woflina is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

RMA the power supply if still under warranty.

Other wise refer to the guide linked in my signature for suggestions.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

For psus do I have to worry about the actual size or the amount of fans or anything?idk anything about them except that you are supposed to have like 30 percent wattage than you actually need
Woflina is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 09:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

PC power supplies are mostly the same size. What devices are you using?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

List the Manufacturer and Model Number of all the Major Components in your PC.

Motherboard -
CPU -
Memory / Ram -
Video Card -
Sound Card -
Hard Drives -
Optical Drives -
Fans (size and numbers) -
Power Supply -
And any other components I may have missed
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

Emachines t3656
mobo I think is like 945c...very cheap and horrible
CPU intel e5400 pentium dual core
zerotherm cf900 fan/heatsink
2 1gb sticks of ram
xfx geforce 8600gt vid card
that's all the stuff that I bought for my computer that I've replaced. Rest of the stuff not mentioned is stock on that computer
the first step I'm gonna take is getting a new psu since it's not making a soft "hum" noise when it was plugged in as it used to
I dunno how many watts I need though as I just raced over the power supply guides
Woflina is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

You have any money on you? I would get a new motherboard, and just carry your devices over, and yes, get a new PSU
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard problem?

It could be either the mobo or the power supply. It's really just a guessing game. Knowing their eMachine parts I would also just get a new mobo and power supply. But that brings up the case. Is it a little dinky case or a mid-size? You may want to upgrade it also.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S-Series GA-EP45-DS5 GIGABYTE Motherboard problem Megalomaniac Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-05-2009 05:19 PM
So, problem connecting to motherboard. Thorn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-02-2008 12:20 AM
motherboard mounting problem uzi9mm System Upgrades 1 02-22-2008 09:51 PM
motherboard problem?? bazzer55 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-02-2007 03:41 PM
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 05:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.