Motherboard or Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default Motherboard or Power Supply

Hello.
The problem I have is that my PC wont switch off!!! When i TURN OFF through XP, the whole systems switches off (hard disks, DVD drives etc) except the Power Supply! This also happen if i try to hardware switch off the PC (i.e. pressing the button for 10 secs). Everything stops to work but the power supply keeps on!

So what is the problem? Can you help me? I would hate to buy a new motherboard (my old one is ASUS , bought it few months ago) and reliase that it was a power supply problem (my PS is also not old).

Yesterday I noticed another strange behaviour which may help you to determine the problem. I have a USB to PHONE device (for skype) which uses a lot, if not all, the power of the USB. Well when i tried to make a phone call (before it was working great) the computer turned off AS WELL AS THE POWER SUPPLY!!!!

I would be grateful if you could help me. Thank you in advence.
__________________

roboticas is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to loopholes202
Default

Whoo, this is a toughy

Do you have any old PSUs you can hook up to it? Or one from a previous computer?

Also, more description on your parts, and how many watts your power supply is putting out.

So more description and I may be able to help more.
__________________

__________________
I should put something here
loopholes202 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its a strange problem :/. it doesn't come to the old "it is now safe to turn off your computer" screen?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you very much for your quick answers.

Well my PSU is 450W.

@nitestick: no no the computer switches off, the screen has no signal, and the only thing working is the fan of the PSU. Even if I try to eject a drive, it is not working indicating that no power reaches the devices. I can also hear tha the hdd's reduce the spin and eventually stop.

I have changed NOTHING on my system. this just occured after one normal use of the PC.

Can you tell my how exactly the mother board swithes off the PSU?

Thank you again.
roboticas is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if possible i think you should try another psu to see if it behaves in the same way
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 07:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, that would be the most proper I think ,also suggested by loopholes202.

I was just hoping that anyone may knew someting more.
__________________

roboticas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.