MotherBoard keeps dying - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default MotherBoard keeps dying

Hi, I put a new Asus P4PE mother board in my computer about a month ago because the previous one stopped working . It was getting power but ther was no post beep or any picture on the screen, it just kept saying no signal. When I put the new board in the power supply didnt work so I replaced that and it was back to normal. A month later the power supply stopped I changed that again and now I have the same problem with the motherboard. Its not getting a post beep and the screen keeps saying no signal. Is there a reason this is happening and can I do something about this.
__________________

KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Kev...
Sounds like you have an elec. 'short'...... since you lost your mobo and powersupply(P/S).
1. Verify your mobo is insulated from the case..... check the standoff posts.
2. Remove Video card..... look for bent/broken pins.
3. Check P/S voltages as you add accessories back in.

John...
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

U sure it's nothing else beside the mobo and PS?
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Do u think getting a surge protector for the computer will help?
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default

I was just told that the room that the computer is in has a little electrical problem since its only an extension recently built on the house. You can not have to many things on in there at one time, so would a surge protector for the computer help?
KevFromNy is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Kev...
Well that's definitely a problem. .... you will trip the 'circuit breaker' if you overload the line. You can't draw 20amps. from a 15amp circuit.
Get a "Surge protector".
But I still think you have a 'short' in your computer.
Verify your 'mobo' is not shorted to the case.
Measure your P/S voltages.......
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.