Motherboard Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Motherboard Issues

I have a Dell and it won't go pass the splash screen (Dell page).
It turns on, goes to Dell screen and then I get a black screen with a cursor on the left hand side of the screen.

I tried to go through safe mode to do a system restore but it won't allow it.
I can't get into the SAFE MODE page!

I was able to run a scan on the system with it's own diagnostic tool. I was paying particular attention to the memory because I get this message about needing to reset the memory which I did. Then I get the same message with the additional notice that the memory has been altered.

I swapped both memory sticks with new ones. Still no change.

I tried swapping the actual memory and still no change.

I am thinking that the motherboard is shot. What do you guys think?
__________________

N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

Do you get any post beeps at startup?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Do you get any post beeps at startup?
Thanks for answering!

No beeps. Everything feels and looks normal until you get to the Dell splash page.

It loads normally and then goes to the black screen.
N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

can you get into bios?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
can you get into bios?
Yes, I can get into BIOS.
N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

hmmm no errors about no boot disk? Have you tried a cd boot disk? Are your hard drives showing up in bios? Perhaps try to clear your cmos either through jumpers or pull the battery for 5 minutes. Usually you would get some type of error code or message unless it just will not get into bios but yours does.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
hmmm no errors about no boot disk? Have you tried a cd boot disk? Are your hard drives showing up in bios? Perhaps try to clear your cmos either through jumpers or pull the battery for 5 minutes. Usually you would get some type of error code or message unless it just will not get into bios but yours does.
No boot disk.

Drives show up in the BIOS.

I also threw in the Knoppix CD and could see all my stuff.

What do you mean clear out the CMOS through jumpers and pulling out the battery?

I am no techie. I know a bit but not that much. LOL.

I know how to find the the CMOS battery on a desktop but not a laptop. Weird. The CMOS battery is the CMOS? lol I am officially an idiot.
N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

I don't remember if I pointed this out earlier. I ran a system test by using the F5 button. It passed most of the ram tests at some point it stopped. Weird. I also ran the Windows RAM test. It passed the first few tests before I cut it off.
I should of ran the rest of it however the Dell System test stopped midway through the six or seven memory tests.
N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 06:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

ok sorry I did not see it was a laptop. Is it still under warranty? There is a trick to reset cmos on dells but I have not tried it and do not think it will fix your problem.
Quote:
This is for Dell CP and CPI Latitudes, it has not been tried on other models. Another way to crack it is to create a short in the 24c02 chip (the markings on the top of the chip) between pins 3 and 6 when you power on!
Is all of your data backed up? Do you have a windows disk that you could try a repair install with?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Motherboard Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
ok sorry I did not see it was a laptop. Is it still under warranty? There is a trick to reset cmos on dells but I have not tried it and do not think it will fix your problem.

Is all of your data backed up? Do you have a windows disk that you could try a repair install with?
Can I repair it even though it says that there is a memory problem?

Remember it says that the memory has to be reset.

I will try putting in the Dell Windows Disk that I have but I just want to make sure.

I don't get it since all the memory tests I did says it passed.

And then I get these memory messages.

Weird.
__________________

N.O.T.O.R.I.O.U.S. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Motherboard for my High Performance computer???? Jethro69 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-27-2008 04:24 PM
Windows XP OEM Motherboard Transfer azza_1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 15 09-04-2008 04:28 AM
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.