Motherboard - IDE/SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2009, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Motherboard - IDE/SATA


My motherboard is IDE though has an additional 2 SATA connectors.
A couple of things :
1) Am I able to run both IDE & SATA interface drives (eg. HDD & DVD) from my motherboard. If so what do I need to do. I wish to run a HHD, DVD rom & DVD burner.
2) If I am unable to do that then how do I connect my HDD, DVD-Rom & DVD Burner to my motherboard when it only has room for 2 devicies.
I currently have everything connencted via IDE interface. I have a SATA HDD of which I have used an adapator to convert to IDE. I also have a IDE DVD rom & IDE DVD burner. I wish to upgrade my burner & it is so differicult to find an IDE DVD burner is Australia, so I think it maybe better to just purchase an SATA interface burner & just an adapotor, the same way that I have connected my HDD.
Thank you

CPU : AMD Athlon XP 1800+ (1533Mhz)
Motherboard : Gigabyte GA-7VT600P-RZ(C) (Id : 10/01/2004-KT600-8237-6A6LYG02C-00)
DVD ROM : Samsung SH-D162D
DVD Burner : LG GH22NP20

If I need to provide further information about my computer, please let me know

Thanks again

Configuration: Windows XP Internet Explorer 8.0

danman44 is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 05:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: Motherboard - IDE/SATA

Connect your SATA hard drive to one of the SATA controllers, then chain your two DVD-ROMS onto the IDE controller, then, if you have to get a SATA DVD, just connect it to the other SATA controller on the motherboard. Check your BIOS, in case any of the controllers are disabled by default, as the old IDE controllers might be. Good luck.

MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Motherboard - IDE/SATA

Not sure why you would be converting a SATA connection to an IDE unless you didn't have enough room.
1)You can run both and you do not need anything special. You will be able to have a maximum of 4 devices (2 IDE devices on one chain and 2 devices on SATA). The only special thing you may need to do is enable the IDE / SATA controllers in the BIOS as Mundo said.
2)Why in the world are you purchasing IDE adapters to convert these SATA connections to IDE? You said you have only one SATA device so you should purchase a SATA DVD drive and use that other SATA connection.

Ideally you would only use your SATA connections as they are faster than IDE. If you have old drives and or run out of SATA connections those are the only scenarios in which you should be using IDE.
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Motherboard - IDE/SATA

Thanks guys, could you please tell me where in BIOS I can make the change. I just had a look & couldn't find it
Thanks again
danman44 is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 11:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: Motherboard - IDE/SATA

Originally Posted by danman44 View Post
Thanks guys, could you please tell me where in BIOS I can make the change. I just had a look & couldn't find it
Thanks again
As every BIOS is different, that is next to impossible for us to tell you. I suggest referring to the documentation that came with your computer/motherboard. If you have somehow lost or misplaced this documentation, you should be able to download it from the manufacturer's website...good luck.
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Motherboard - IDE/SATA

Mundo is right. It is hard for us to tell you exactly as each BIOS is unique. But you should see it under either the Drive or SATA heading.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 08:16 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 08:09 PM
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 04:51 PM
After New motherboard, PC wont start up? amazonsamurai Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2008 01:18 PM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 07:36 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.