Motherboard/Hard drive/SATA problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2006, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Motherboard/Hard drive/SATA problems


After recently needing to upgrade, I’ve purchased a new 300gig hard drive replacement and run into a problem!

The hard drive uses a SATA connection, and is connected to the appropriate port on the mother board, which is a ASUS K8V ACPI, Bios Revision 1004.

When i start the machine, the computer 'scans devices' (after the initial start up screen) and the 'Serial_Ch0 Master: Maxtor 7L300S0' comes up, which suggests its installed and ready to go.

Unfortunately, when i attempt to install windows, i get the message explaining no hard drive has been detected/installed. When i reboot and enter the BIOS, nothing relating to the hard drive is present under Primary IDE master/slave.

Under the boot priority menu, the hard drive is listed (as VIA VT6420 1st HDD), but selecting as the 1st boot device makes no difference.

Am I correct in thinking this is a motherboard problem? If so, what steps will be needed to get the hard drive configured?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, and for any help or advice.


andarts is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

SATA drivers need to be installed before the drive can be used for windows. you should have drivers that came with your motherboard. before the windows setup it will ask you if you need to install scsi or raid drivers have your disk ready and away you go.

a random tutorial i found on google

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the reply, after my own Google searching I've became aware of the need to use the F6 key!

The problem is, i don't have any discs, nor can i find anything on the ASUS website!

Thanks for your help so far.
andarts is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.