Motherboard error codes. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2011, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Motherboard error codes.

It's been about two months without my gaming computer. Before I broke the motherboard pins on my first p8p67 deluxe, it all worked perfectly. No problems booting at all. But when I ordered the asrock professional gen3, I got an error code 30. Nothing I tried fixed it, even buying ram on the compatible list. I couldn't change anything in the bios because I didn't get any signal to my monitor or keyboard. A month later, I buy another a p8p67 deluxe, use the same hardware I used with it in the first place, and I still get error code 30 and the memok button doesn't fix anything or clearing the cmos. Using one stick of ram, I get an error code of 45. I used 6 different sticks of g.skill ram, 4 new, all with the same error codes. Any idea what could be wrong? I'm completely stumped.
__________________

ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

Are these BIOS errors?

Try to disconnect everything but the essentials. Unplug all USB devices but your keyboard, all drives, etc.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

No, these are asus q codes/dr debug codes. The only things I have connected are the processor, heatsink, and one stick of ram. Just trying to fix code 30/45.
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

Is there a BIOS update available for your board?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ollithemagicbum View Post
Before I broke the motherboard pins on my first p8p67 deluxe
What pins did you break?

I hate to say it but it sounds like you may have fried the memory controller.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

I don't know about the bios update, don't even know how I would do it since I get no video signal. @slaymatem that was my old p8p67 deluxe, my new one isn't damaged.
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

Could it possibly be your PSU shortening it out?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 07:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

answer the question. Depending upon what was previously damaged, you may have damaged other components because of it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

Agreed, depending on what "pins" was damaged, you could have fried the memory controller, which is now located INSIDE your CPU, it is no longer a part of the North Bridge.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 04:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Motherboard error codes.

I have no idea what pins I broke, how do I find out?
__________________

ollithemagicbum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Codes Mandore Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-07-2009 04:09 PM
Error Codes, Ugh! yo1mcool Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-01-2008 11:05 AM
Help error codes tammy09 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-10-2007 06:58 PM
Wii Error Codes Explained Osiris Nintendo 3 02-06-2007 03:45 AM
Windows Error Codes harmon78 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-16-2006 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.