Motherboard or BIOS problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Motherboard or BIOS problem...

Hey, I recently upgraded my ram and noticed that my computer stopped reading it correctly.

When I bought my computer (used) it came with 2x256 SDRAM sticks... I just added a 512 SDRAM stick but not all of my memory is being accounted for. The BIOS says I have 512 and so does windows xp, but I got a program called CPU-Z and it can read all my memory.
I went on a computer web site and searched my mobo for hardware and it stated I had only 512 in the first slot and the second and third (out of three) were empty. Did I some how turn off the second and third ram slots? Also, my mobo should beable to hadle all of the ram....

Here are my comp. stats...

Intel(R) Pentium(R) III 1133MHz
Code name: Tualatin ID: 2
FSB 133.6MHz
Bus Speed 133.6MHz

Mainboard...
MSI MS-6309 5.0
Chipset:VIA Apollo Pro
Southbridge:VIA VT82C686
Sensor:VIA 686A/B

BIOS...
American Megatrends Inc.
Ver. 062710
07/15/97


New ram...
SDRAM 512MB PC133 Micron Technology 2002
Not registered or buffered

Old ram...
SDRAM 256 PC125
Regestered and Buffered
__________________

daev is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
Main Memory

• Support three 168-pin unbuffered DIMM using six memory banks.
• Support a maximum memory size of 1.5GB (32M x 8)
• Support ECC(1-bit Error Code Correct) function.
• Support 3.3v SDRAM DIMM.
From MSI's specs page.

Perhaps the RAM you installed is not the right voltage?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 08-20-2005, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
New ram...
SDRAM 512MB PC133 Micron Technology 2002
Not registered or buffered

Old ram...
SDRAM 256 PC125
Regestered and Buffered
Mixing the two types may be the problem.

I guess flip a coin.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.