Mother board/cpu problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default Mother board/cpu problem?

I'm trying to figure out if this is a mother board or CPU problem.
My computer crashes after 5 to 10 min everytime. The error message that windows says, is something about the graphics card and try to lower the graphics rendering...
But it's not this, cus I've gotten a second PCIe ati graphics card and that does the same thing.

Sometimes when I boot up I get an overclocking error.

Also of note, it works ok in safe mode.

I get a quick blue screen and it usually says trying to access some memory that's not executable. It's to quick for me to read though.
__________________

danparker276 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

give system specs. also if you can get the stop error code on the blue screen it would be great or it mite be in event viewer also if you know around what time it blue screened.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, I need to check the event viewer, I'm at work now though.

I got a asus a8r-mvp
has an ati chip set, has cross fire support. It crashes with 1 or 2 video cards though.
It's athalon 3400 939 socket, 2gb ram.

It used to work fine, this is about a month after I got it.
danparker276 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

have you updated the drivers for your video cards, also you are using 2 of the exect same vid card right?

oh yeah and post what you get in your event viewer.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I'll do it when i get home,
it's a different video card, radeon x1600 and x1300

Found something bad about the motherboard:
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=29932
danparker276 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I think i got my answer. Everyone is having problems with this motherboard
http://www.pricegrabber.com/rating_g...7228/id_type=M
__________________

danparker276 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.