Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2016, 07:36 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,294
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Take out the graphics card and use onboard for now, see if the problem persists. It's a pity you don't have a different graphics card to test with :/
Also, long shot but could also be a potential issue with your power supply. Dirty power can make graphics cards perform strangely, don't suppose you have a spare power supply by any chance?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:27 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Take out the graphics card and use onboard for now, see if the problem persists. It's a pity you don't have a different graphics card to test with :/
Also, long shot but could also be a potential issue with your power supply. Dirty power can make graphics cards perform strangely, don't suppose you have a spare power supply by any chance?
Took out the GPU, let you know how it goes.

Honestly I've been having problems with my SSD and HDD as well; the connections are broken I had to tape my SSD for the SATA cable to stay in place lol. I had a summer job and made about $1000 so I might replace a few things, would you suggest replacing my PSU? Also, where could I look to file a warranty claim on my GPU if that is indeed the problem? (which i'm 85% sure it is).
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,917
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

The manufacturer of the card - e.g. EVGA if it's an EVGA branded card.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 07:33 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
The manufacturer of the card - e.g. EVGA if it's an EVGA branded card.
It is EVGA as a matter of fact, i'll look there thanks.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 02:45 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Found the place to submit a support ticket, what exactly should I say?
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 03:50 PM   #36 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 979
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfdude77 View Post
Found the place to submit a support ticket, what exactly should I say?
I would say something like "Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart"

lol best of luck to you
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 05:01 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParanormal View Post
I would say something like "Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart"

lol best of luck to you
That's so original! I summed up the problem and sent them the details, thanks for the luck!
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 05:54 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Wow, surprised. They got back to me almost instantly. Here's what he said

"Hello,

Thank you for contacting us today and I am sorry to hear about your concerns regarding your graphics card. By design the fans for this card are programmed not to spin until the card reaches 65C, these cards are rated to function up to temperatures of 95C.

So 65C would not be considered a high temperature. Now if the temperatures are getting above 80C and the fans still aren't spinning up then this would be an issue.

I hope I was able to give you some insight here.

If your screen is going black here then I would assume there is a different issue here. The black screens would not be the cause of heating based on the temperature you are getting. I would assume that this may be a power issue.

Please check the voltages coming from your power supply to diagnose the issue. We have a great FAQ on how to check these values here: FAQ ID # 59025 - how can I check my power supply's 12v rail voltage in my motherboard's BIOS?

Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Regards,
EVGA"


How would I even go about replacing my PSU lol?
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 06:53 PM   #39 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,917
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfdude77 View Post

How would I even go about replacing my PSU lol?
By buying a new one, or borrowing one that has enough power to run your system temporarily? Lol
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 07:01 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Alright sorry lol been really non-specific here these last couple of responses and sounding like an idiot.

SHOULD I replace my PSU was what I intended to ask, and if so a higher wattage? My current wattage is 430.

Edit 1: Would this be fine?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139147
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stay Focusd Helps You Stay Work Focused Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-28-2010 07:10 AM
to stay internal or not to stay internal deimos1090 Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 01-16-2007 01:15 PM
Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't ankhev Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-06-2006 11:06 AM
How do I make Windows Firewall stay on after a restart? True_Orb Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-22-2005 10:42 PM
Just got done building a new computer and sometimes restart fails ingeborgdot Overclocking and Modding 6 03-12-2005 07:30 AM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.