Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2016, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

So yeah, starting about two weeks ago my dual monitor setup would just all of a sudden go black, they might flash like once or twice and the episode would last for 5-30 seconds, and then they'd go back to normal, I looked online and found no solution, but figured it was fine as it didn't interfere too much with my gaming (I play Smite by Hi-Rez primarily). So tonight I'm smiting with a friend, and we get into a custom game together, I load in, and my monitors go black. And they stay black. And they say no signal. This had only happened a few times before and was usually fixed by a restart so I restarted, only to have the same exact thing happen twice more: load into game, black monitors, restart. On the last time (a few minutes ago actually) my primary monitor said "input not supported" instead of the usual "no signal". This is getting super super super annoying, please help right away.

P.S.: I wasn't entirely sure what category to put this under, hope I got it right!
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Anyone? Please, this is awful.
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,259
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Do they work in safe mode? Off hand it sounds like a driver failure or hardware failure. If it will work in safe mode then it is software, probably.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

I restarted in safe mode, however, my monitors only seem to die when I'm actually playing smite etc., and I can't do that in safe mode. So yes, the monitors do work in safe mode, however that doesn't tell us anything as they only usually crash while I'm actually in a game.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 07:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Update: The problem only seems to occur when I am entering graphics-strenuous areas of games, ex. smite, paladins, atlas reactor. However, I am able to play AC Syndicate without any troubles at all?
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 07:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,259
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

What kind of temps are you getting on your card? Have you checked the fan(s) to verify that it/they are working? Have you tried using software to increase the speed of the fans?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
What kind of temps are you getting on your card? Have you checked the fan(s) to verify that it/they are working? Have you tried using software to increase the speed of the fans?
I'm getting no higher than 66 degrees C on the card, the fans are indeed working, going at about 500rpm when the card is in use (when playing a game), I have not tried to increase the speed of the fans manually, what program would I use for that?

Also, just played a game of smite without any issues. Don't know if the problem suddenly solved itself or if it's just temporary, i'll keep you updated.

Addition 1: Huh, so that was weird. Played another whole game without any issues, then at the win screen my screen goes black for a few seconds, comes back on, black, on, black, on, and stayed on. Odd.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,428
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

What GPU do you have?

Have you updated your graphics drivers from the GPU manufacturer's site?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What GPU do you have?

Have you updated your graphics drivers from the GPU manufacturer's site?
I have the GeForce GTX 960, and yes I just updated these yesterday.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,259
Default Re: Monitors Go Black, sometimes flash, sometimes stay black and require a restart

Try rolling back to an older set of drivers, like the beginning of August. I have a 960 and have had issues in certain games with certain releases.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stay Focusd Helps You Stay Work Focused Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-28-2010 07:10 AM
to stay internal or not to stay internal deimos1090 Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 01-16-2007 01:15 PM
Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't ankhev Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-06-2006 11:06 AM
How do I make Windows Firewall stay on after a restart? True_Orb Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-22-2005 10:42 PM
Just got done building a new computer and sometimes restart fails ingeborgdot Overclocking and Modding 6 03-12-2005 07:30 AM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.