Monitor wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2005, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Angry Monitor wont turn on

I have an ep-8kta3 motherboard with an old winpro geforce 2 agp graphics card and when I turn on the computer, the monitor wont turn on . It acts like it is turning on, then goes back into sleep mode
__________________

Gundamen_85 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Try with another monitor if you could to verify it's not the video card fault.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Did that to. No luck there either, I had a tech friend look at it and he said that the board is fried, but I am still hoping it isn't.
Gundamen_85 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

try different slots? worth a try
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

So you isolated the monitor out then what's left is the video card, if you could try and replace it with a good one if so then I can only thing of 4 reason...motherboard is dead, cpu is dead, powersupply not giving out adaquate power, even if you switch your video card with a working one make sure it's compatible else it won't work and you may speculate its the motherboard but might be the videocard after all. Just a thought give it a try.
Law is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
try different slots? worth a try
The card is agp and there is only one agp on the board, I would try to put a pci in it, but I dont have any handy
Gundamen_85 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried 3 other cards, but I dont think I got around to changing out the power supply, I tested the cpu in another computer and it worked. The only thing I didn't try was the power, I think. My memory sucks so who knows . I'll give it a shot, thanks.
__________________

Gundamen_85 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.