monitor wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default monitor wont turn on

hi.

not sure if this is the right section or not but i thought this would be the best bet .

My dad had a pc at work which is alot better than the one i have now.

yesterday he bought it home as he no longer uses it there. I set it all up but the monitor doesnt seem to be recieving and signal so it doesnt turn on.

iv tried both my current monitor and the one he bought home that was origonally used with the pc.

any suggestions?

Pc

Hewlard packard

dual core 3.0

nvidia 7300 512mb g card.

2 gig ram
__________________

boobo7 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default

ok fixd that problem

but now when i turn on it gets to the start up black screen and i get and error

sayin soemthing about OC and to ender CD to fix OC
__________________

boobo7 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default

here is the actuall error

"OC fail, please enter setup to change OC fail settings"
boobo7 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Enter the bios and select defaults for your cpu. Either a multiplier or the fsb is set too high...
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default

i did that and now half way through loading windows screen i get a BSOD

my friend says i need to clear ESCD data but i cnt find the option

my mother board is a gigabyte GA-81945PM-RH

if someone could tell me where on the bios this is plz?
boobo7 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

see thats what happens when you overclock problems happen.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default

the fact that its a brand new pc and hasnt been overclocked just proves that your point is totally wrong.

if your gonna post please try and either offer some advice or read the thread before you conclude on whats been done


thnx
boobo7 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Take the battery out of the mboard for a few minutes, reinstall it and reboot...so other than shipping, nothing has been changed on this computer?
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.