monitor wont turn on - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2006, 12:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Locutus
Are you using a video card? and if you are what kind? AGP, PCI, PCI E? Or is the video integrated.
Do the following, reseat the ram, the video card (if you have one) power drain the computer, go into safemode , see if it works.

If not most likey the video card or the ram is overheating. Try leaving the computer in BIOS screen for a while if no video signal there or dies out after a while, you got a hardware issue,. if it works in BIOS, then you got a driver or software issue. thanks
its intergrated. i tried to reseat the ram, i cant go into safe mode, cause my screen wont even come on... im ready to kick the darn thing!
__________________

danielle is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
you got a new video card
there's a chance that the new video card is stressing the PSU too much

or there's a chance that you got an AGP 4X or 8X card, and you only have an AGP 2X slot
I bought a 2x and put it in and nothing changed, it did the same thing its been doing...nothing
__________________

danielle is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yoshiemaster
reset your cmos. differs from mobo to mobo. but basically you have to move a jumper up a slot and pull out the battery on the motherboard for 30 sec.... put it back in, and switch the jumpers back to the original position and it should work again. if not, you got a big problem.
I'll try that. thanx
danielle is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by danielle
I bought a 2x and put it in and nothing changed, it did the same thing its been doing...nothing
do you know the motherboard model?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.