Monitor Wont Display Anything - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2009, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 99
Default Monitor Wont Display Anything

right, i turned the computer on but the monitor wont display anything but i use the same monitor for my other computer and it works fine so how can i fix this problem?

i really hope that i dont have to buy new hardware, i have bought new ram though cuz i wanted to speed it up its just couple of days ago it worked fine with my monitor but today its just not working at all with my monitor but the computer does turn on and all of the things are spinning inside and all that, im just checking to see if theres a solution to this problem?
__________________

jambab is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Monitor Wont Display Anything

Have you:

Hooked the monitor up to another computer today to ensure it is working?

Checked all of the cable connections to ensure they are snug?

Tried a different monitor on your computer?

Reseated the video card if applicable?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Monitor Wont Display Anything

Take the new RAM out and put in your old RAM sticks and see if it works then. Can also try clearing CMOS before you swap RAM sticks out.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 99
Default Re: Monitor Wont Display Anything

ye checked all the cables are snug in, i took the video card out cleaned it cuz it was quite dusty but still no luck.

and i havent got the new ram yet i ordered it last week its on its way so i cant test that just yet.

any other suggestions?
jambab is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Monitor Wont Display Anything

Sorry, thought you meant you already had the new RAM. If you have multiple sticks of RAM, try a single stick in different slots on your board.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 25
Default Re: Monitor Wont Display Anything

I agree with carnageX, does sound like a RAM problem.
__________________

blinky88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Album Covers With CD Art Display Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-29-2009 08:10 AM
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.