Monitor Trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2008, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default Monitor Trouble

hey there, I have an HP computer and im using a Dell monitor. I cant seem to get the monitor to work with my computer. I know the computer works and i know the monitor works i just cant get them to mix.

I was using a HDMI cable with my last monitor. but the dell one dosnt have a HDMI slot so im going back to an AVG cable correct me if thats wrong. When i do that i cant get anything to show up. Not sure if my graphic card dosnt support it but if not then why is it there.

any suggestions would be great

thanks !

cgrknight is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor Trouble

If you went back to VGA (Not AVG that is a antivirus program) check the montior. It should have a digital or analog button. Or a button to auto detect what mode it is running in. Hit that.

HDMI is a digital signal. VGA is not. So the montior is still trying to run in digital while you are trying to have it work in analog. Hitting the auto detect button should force it to go back to analog and work properly.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Monitor Trouble

theres only 3 buttons on the monitor. I dont think any of them are the auto direct button cause iv tryed hitting all 3. I know the monitor works because i can hook it up to my laptop. But your right with the signal thing. I just gotta figure out how to change it. I trying going to best buy and getting a VGA to HDMI adapter but they didnt sell it.
cgrknight is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 01:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
alehkcis's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 208
Default Re: Monitor Trouble

try going to bios and set your video mode to auto detect it is possible that it is still running on your external gfx assuming this because i dont know there is an onboard hdmi output.
alehkcis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.