Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2008, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color

i dont know what the heck is going on i just started my computer up after having it on standby and it had my regular 1280x1024 resolution and i noticed it was scrolling slowly (i think like when you dont have a video driver for a graphics card installed) so i checked the properties and it was stuck at that, i dont know what i touched but then it turned into this crappy resolution and bit color.

i tried doing something that the troubleshoot said (it was like driver update or something like that) but that didnt help. is my graphics card gone or what?

regards.
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color

Did you try a full restart of the system? Often when coming out of standby or hibernation device drivers are still sitting there inactive and need reinitializing. Generally a full reboot will see all that cleared up.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default

yup, tried a full reboot...ill try completely turning off the computer (switching off the psu and such.)

didnt work...
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color

What I meant there was when first seeing the problem prior to going for any update. Now you will have to remove all video drivers and software and see a full reboot before attempting to install the drivers and software fresh.

Sometimes it will take a few attempts to finally get Windows to wake up and redetect the card itself in order to see the drivers fully installed and made active. You see this more often with PCI type devices like sound and tuner cards however.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color

awesome, i got the reg resolution now, just going to install the video drivers, thanks a bunch
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Monitor Stuck at 640x480, 4 bit color

Remember what you just did there for any problems like this that come up with any expansion card whether video, sound, tv tuner/capture, and other addon devices. Sometimes all it takes is ringing an alarm clock to wake Windows up a little.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
32 bit Color Quality Error jimmysohi Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-27-2008 03:16 AM
new OS or just use the same old one? Z e i g Microsoft Windows and Software 47 12-04-2007 02:33 PM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.