Monitor standby Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2015, 04:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Monitor standby Problems

So for the past couple of months my monitor will go into standby mode randomly when booting the system and restarting it. I even have the problem now that when accessing the BIOS, it will go into standby mode after a couple of seconds.

This is not a permanent problem, it will happen randomly, and when it does, it normally requires me to restart the system a few times while selecting VGA mode after holding down F8 before I can access to the desktop again.

This problem is starting to bug me and have not been able to find a permanent fix to the problem.

Things I have tried:

  • Reset BIOS to default
  • Reset the C MOS
  • Reinstall, update and try older version of my video card drivers
  • switched cables from graphics card to monitor with HDMI and DVI connections
System specs:
CPU: i7 860
Motherboard: P55A-UD5
GPU: Gigabyte 5870
PSU: Corsair tx850
RAM: Corsair 6 GB

Iím at a loss why this is happening and what the problem is, and could really use some help


Thanks

__________________

Xyru84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 06:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

If it's possible, try a different monitor so you can determine if it's your pc or just a flakey monitor
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 06:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
If it's possible, try a different monitor so you can determine if it's your pc or just a flakey monitor
+1, Could just be your monitor, also check your VGA port on the mobo see if its loose or got debris.. I had a similar issue and turned out I bent my VGA port slightly.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Thanks for the replies.

I have switch my monitor, power cable and video cable while the PC was powered down and removed from the power board.

When i turned the PC back on with the new monitor and cables, i noticed that the PC restarted itself on boot, was down for about 5 seconds and then turned booted itself up again.

However i immediately was greeted with the monitor going into standby mode while the system booted itself up. It took a few restarts going into VGA mode before i got to desktop again.

So i guess that rules out the monitor. Any other ideas?

Thanks
Xyru84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 06:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

You can install updated drivers/software and see if that'll help.
Use DDU to remove all the existing drivers first, be sure to follow the guidelines here:
Display Driver Uninstaller Download version 14.0.0.1

Then you can download and install AMD catalysts software and drivers here
Download Drivers

Be sure to disable your antivirus before you install new video drivers first
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 06:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xyru84 View Post
Thanks for the replies.

I have switch my monitor, power cable and video cable while the PC was powered down and removed from the power board.

When i turned the PC back on with the new monitor and cables, i noticed that the PC restarted itself on boot, was down for about 5 seconds and then turned booted itself up again.

However i immediately was greeted with the monitor going into standby mode while the system booted itself up. It took a few restarts going into VGA mode before i got to desktop again.

So i guess that rules out the monitor. Any other ideas?

Thanks
That rules out the monitor, Try doing a restore point to a week before the problem started, maybe some sys files are corrupted or changed. I would think if your GPU was failing at post it would beep as its a core component.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Hi

Sorry for the late reply, but my PC got into a state where i was no longer able to get into my desktop.

@Joe C - I had already did a clean uninstall of GPU drivers and installed the latest versions.

@i2D__ - I had tried a system restore and that didn't work either

After not being able to get into desktop at all, i decided to try another 5870. After installing the GPU i was able to get back into desktop without a problem.

So i figured that either my GPU was dying or was over heating, so i went ahead and cleaned it (wasn't that dusty from what i could tell) and rearranged HHD locations and cables within the tower to try and give it more airflow and just for an overall clean of the system.

After doing all that, i reinstalled my GPU and turned on the PC and it booted straight to desktop.

So right now i am a little confused on what the problem could have been, but as for now, the PC is working fine again.

I'll keep this post updated in case things decide to go bad again.
Xyru84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Could have been a heat issue and cleaning it helped or it could have even been a loose connection on the contacts for the GPU/PCI-E slot, and removing the card/reinserting it fixed the connection.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 02:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: Monitor standby Problems

Yeah i guess is was a loose connection GPU connections to the PCI-E slot.

I am going to rule out heat as the tower has enough fans to keep up good air circulation within the PC case and when i cleaned it while i still had the issue, there was almost no dust.

All seems to working as per normal again. Thanks for your help Tech-forums
__________________

Xyru84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor, standby

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable moniter standby in standby mode. duke69111 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-28-2006 09:10 PM
Please help...monitor not coming out of standby alexx445 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 10-14-2004 12:17 PM
Monitor switches to standby on powerup. Lucky Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-06-2004 04:07 PM
monitor goes into standby ultranoob80 PC Gaming 3 05-05-2004 10:04 PM
System Standby Isn't "Standby" xeromem Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-09-2004 06:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.