Monitor on standby! after mem switch - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 05:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default Monitor on standby! after mem switch

Hi folks,

I have a computer from a friend which was working fine. Then he switched the memory sticks (he's not totally computer illiterate, I'm confident he did this properly. eg. power off, correct slots etc...) The problem was when he turned it back on, the monitor doesn't come on.

He brought it to me and I've tried taking everything out, cleaning it all and going again. I had trouble trying to find out how to reset the BIOS, its an ASUS A7A266 mobo.

When I plug it in, all the fans start up, but I hear no hard disk noise and no beeps of any sort... and the monitor just stays on standby.

Any ideas?

Thankyou guys,
Gaz
__________________

Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

You say he switched the memory, did you try switching it back to the old memory?

The monitor is really an un-related issue, the monitor is on standby cuz your system isnt booting up. most likely because of the wrong memory and/or bad memory.

So its really system wont boot after memory switch, specially if you hear no beeps and hard disk not turning on.

Find out the right memory for your mother board and put that in. some mother boards cant handle Non-ECC memory and need only ECC and when you put non-ecc in you issues like that. it also might just be bad memory if he just throw some in thats be laying around.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default

I tried the original memory, and still got the same problem.

Gaz
Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Remove the cmos battery for a few minutes then try it again. If nothing then Unhook everything from the board except the power connectors, and take all the ram, video card, extra pci cards etc from the board and then try rebooting. If you still get no post or beeps (and the board has a speaker hooked up) the boards no good.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.