monitor screen resolution problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default monitor screen resolution problem

hello,

I have recently bought a new widescreen monitor (viewsonic VA2012wb). When i first plugged it in i tried installing the cd it came with, it didnt have the model of monitor i have so i had to use their website to download my drive. Finally i installed my monitor's driver but i still had one problem, the resolution was still not the right one. I currently have a 1600 x 1024 resolution, and i need to have a 1680 x 1050 for my monitor to display right. I once somehow 3 weeks before was able to finally get it to 1680 x 1050 through something of windows updating or something. but then i restarted my computer 2 days ago and it went back to 1600 x 1024 and i cant get it back to how i want it. I need your guys' help to get my resolution back

thanks,

anew
__________________

anewmmafan is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

are u using xp or vista?
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

xp
anewmmafan is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

what kind of video card are u using ATI or Geforce? because if ur using ATI then u can try going to Catayst Control Centre and change it from there instead of using the Display properties
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

im using geforce
anewmmafan is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

cant u change it through Nvidia control panel?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

it doesnt have the 1680 x 1050 resolution
anewmmafan is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

can anyone else help me?
anewmmafan is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

try doing this..

right click on the desktop, select properties, settings, advanced, then click the monitor tab and make sure there is no tick in the box saying "hide modes that this monitor cannot display"

just give that a shot...it worked on my viewsonic monitor but im using 1400x1280
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default

its grayed out
__________________

anewmmafan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.