Monitor says no input detected but still works - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2012, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Default Monitor says no input detected but still works

Someone just came to me at work saying that the "no input detected" box randomly pops up even though the monitor still works. This might even be a new monitor. I told her to email me if it persists, so I haven't checked on it in person yet. My question is, is this a problem with the monitor or something else. She has a dual monitor set-up. Could it be the video card maybe?

She hasn't gotten back to me yet, so it may be working for the moment. She'll probably leave early today, and I'll check on it to mess with it. I was just wondering if anyone's seen this and what your initial assumptions might be.
__________________

hewitcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: Monitor says no input detected but still works

It's probably not the monitor...you need more info to diagnose it, but I think she just needs to mess with the dual monitor settings in Windows...also confirm she's not plugging one monitor into onboard and another into dedicated video card or something like that.
__________________

computerrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Monitor says no input detected but still works

She doesn't have a PCI video card. At this point I have switched the VGA cable going to the monitor. All the settings are fine. We'll see if it happens again. I haven't seen it misbehave yet for myself, so it's hard to say.
hewitcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Default Re: Monitor says no input detected but still works

So far, it seems like switching the cable fixed it.
hewitcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Signal Detected (On Monitor) SilverKiento Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-22-2009 11:53 PM
Monitor not being detected raulworth Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-30-2008 06:11 PM
second monitor not detected... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-25-2006 05:22 PM
Monitor Not Detected IainM Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-01-2006 05:43 AM
no temperature monitor works!! lazer_viking Overclocking and Modding 12 05-09-2006 03:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.