Monitor is Saying No signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2012, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default Monitor is Saying No signal

I just received a computer and monitor from my sister. The computer was wiped clean of everything even software. Now when I plug it in. the monitor is saying no signal. What am I doing wrong? Thanks
__________________

mindy410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Monitor is Saying No signal

The computer powers on? Lights come up / fans spin up?

Does the computer have a graphics card in one of the PCI slots?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Monitor is Saying No signal

it says i have one reply and i can not see it!!
mindy410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Monitor is Saying No signal

now i can see it. Yes the computer comes on and the green light is on and the fan spins. Dont know abotu the graphics card.
mindy410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Monitor is Saying No signal

What ports are on the back? If you're not sure, you could just take a picture of the back of the computer and post it up.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Monitor Signal TheDudeThatPwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-07-2011 08:40 AM
No monitor signal Sakeri New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-24-2006 07:42 PM
HD signal to my monitor?? blast2blaze New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-12-2006 07:55 PM
No Monitor Signal!!!!!!!!!! Musjunk22 Overclocking and Modding 15 04-21-2005 11:49 PM
need help no signal to monitor bomt697 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-11-2004 12:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.