Monitor refuses to show 800x600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default Monitor refuses to show 800x600

I bought a Hanns·G JW-199DPO Silver 19" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor when I built my PC last summer, and it has ran perfectly for me since. However, it recently began to refuse showing anything fullscreen in 800x600 or lower resolution. It always did, and I cannot remember if I did anything to cause this.

I am trying to run Gunbound Revolution.

I have usually been able to get around this problem by repeatedly taking screens of the game, switching in and out of paint, pasting the screen and navigating my way to the video options, but this time around, there is no resolution/window mode.

Specs:
Windows Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 2

Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180

Memory (RAM) 2048 MB

CPU AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+

CPU Speed 2209.3 MHz

Sound card SB Audigy 2 ZS Audio [AC00]

Display Adapters NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS | NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD

Screen Resolution 1360 X 768 - 32 bit



Network Adapters NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport | Dynex Wireless G Adapter #2 - Packet Scheduler Miniport | VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet8

CD / DVD Drives D: BENQ DVD DC DQ60 | E: BENQ DVD DC DQ60 | G: CR3925C QNB118J | H: CR3925C QNB118J | K: CR3925C QNB118J | L: CR3925C QNB118J



COM Ports COM1

LPT Ports LPT1

Mouse 8 Button Wheel Mouse Present

Hard Disks C: 138.4GB | F: 15.0GB

Hard Disks - Free C: 45.9GB | F: 15.0GB
__________________

__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Drivers are corrupted. Remove the display drivers and clean the registry (download driver cleaner, it's free). Reinstall latest Nvidia drivers.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Securit...-Cleaner.shtml
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Yah but the last time I reinstalled my video card drivers, after I restarted my computer, it started in really really low resolution, and when I tried to get to the Nvidia Control Panel it said that it was not installed correctly. Everytime I tried to install it, this happened.
__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

hmmm... I followed your instructions and during the reinstallation of the drivers, the screen went black. I rebooted and still black. So thanks for that wonderful piece of **** idea. Ill keep you in my thoughts as I desperately try to get my scratched windows disk to work.
__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

bump
__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Install the latest drivers for your video card and monitor. Thread closed.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

DUDE!!! Did you even read this entire post?! MY WINDOWS DOESNT START ANYMORE!!! How am I supposed to install drivers without an operating system???
__________________

__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.